Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

A HubSpot Delete activity deletes an object from a HubSpot endpoint and is intended to be used as a target to consume data in an operation. After configuring a HubSpot connection, you can configure as many HubSpot activities as you like for each HubSpot connection.

Creating a HubSpot Activity

From the design canvas, open the Connectivity tab of the design component palette:

Connectivity tab

Use the Show dropdown to filter on Endpoints, and then click the HubSpot connection block to display activities that are available to be used with a HubSpot connection:

HubSpot activities

To create an activity that can be configured, drag the activity block from the palette to the operation.

For more information about the parts of an operation and adding activities to operations, see Operation Creation and Configuration.

Configuring a HubSpot Delete Activity

Follow these steps to configure a HubSpot Delete activity:

Step 1: Enter a Name and Specify Settings

HubSpot Delete Activity Configuration Step 1

  • Name: Enter a name to use to identify the HubSpot Delete activity. The name must be unique for each HubSpot Delete activity and must not contain forward slashes (/) or colons (:).

  • Select an Object: This section displays objects available in the HubSpot endpoint. When reopening an existing activity configuration, only the selected web service is displayed instead of reloading the entire web service list.

    • Selected Object: After an object is selected, it will be listed here.

    • Search: Enter any part of the object name into the search box to filter the list of objects. The search is not case-sensitive. If objects are already displayed within the table, the table results will be filtered in real time with each keystroke. To reload objects from the endpoint when searching, enter search criteria and then refresh, as described below.

    • Refresh: Click the refresh icon Refresh icon or the word Refresh to reload objects from the HubSpot endpoint. This may be useful if you have recently added objects to the HubSpot instance. This action refreshes all metadata used to build the table of objects displayed in the configuration.

    • Select an Object: Within the table, click anywhere on a row to select an object. Only one object can be selected. The information available for each object is fetched from the HubSpot endpoint:

      • Name: The object name from HubSpot.
      • Description: The object description from HubSpot.

    TIP: If the table does not populate with available objects, the HubSpot connection may not be successful. Ensure you are connected by reopening the connection and retesting the credentials.

  • Save & Exit: If enabled, click to save the configuration for this step and close the activity configuration.

  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Step 2: Review the Data Schemas

HubSpot Delete Activity Configuration Step 2

  • Data Schema: The request and response data schemas for HubSpot are displayed. If the operation uses a transformation, the data schemas are displayed again later during the transformation mapping process, where you can map to target fields using source objects, scripts, variables, custom values, and more.

    The HubSpot connector uses the HubSpot API. Refer to the API documentation for information on the schema fields.

  • Refresh: Click the refresh icon Refresh icon or the word Refresh to regenerate schemas from the HubSpot endpoint. This action also regenerates the schema in other locations throughout the project where the same schema is referenced, such as in an adjacent transformation.

  • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.

  • Finished: Click to save the configuration for all steps and close the activity configuration.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Next Steps

After configuring a HubSpot Delete activity, complete the configuration of the operation by adding and configuring other activities, transformations, or scripts as operation steps. You can also configure an operation's operation settings, which include the ability to chain operations together that are in the same or different workflows.

After a HubSpot activity has been created, menu actions for that activity are accessible from the project pane in either the Workflows or the Components tabs, and from the design canvas. See Activity Actions Menu for details.

HubSpot Delete activities can be used as a target with these operation patterns:

Other patterns are not valid using HubSpot Delete activities. See the validation patterns on the Operation Validity page.

A typical use case is to use a HubSpot Delete activity in the Two-Transformation Pattern. In this example, the first transformation (HubSpot Delete Request) creates a request structure that is passed to the HubSpot Delete activity. The second transformation (HubSpot Delete Response) receives the response structure, which is then written to a variable by a Variable Write activity (Write HubSpot Delete Response) and a message is then logged by the Write to Operation Log script:

HubSpot Delete operation

To use the activity with scripting functions, write the data to a temporary location and then use that temporary location in the scripting function.

When ready, deploy and run the operation and validate behavior by checking the operation logs.

On This Page

Last updated:  Sep 09, 2020

  • No labels