Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

A Jira Delete activity deletes an object from a Jira endpoint and is intended to be used as a target to consume data in an operation. After configuring a Jira connection, you can configure as many Jira activities as you like for each Jira connection.

Creating a Jira Activity

From the design canvas, open the Connectivity tab of the design component palette:

Connectivity tab

Use the Show dropdown to filter on Endpoints, and then click the Jira connection block to display activities that are available to be used with a Jira connection:

Jira activities

To create an activity that can be configured, drag the activity block from the palette to the operation.

For more information about the parts of an operation and adding activities to operations, see Operation Creation and Configuration.

Accessing Menu Actions

After a Jira activity has been added to an operation, menu actions for that activity are accessible from the project pane in either the Workflows or the Components tabs, and from the design canvas:

  • Project Pane: In the Workflows or Components tab of the project pane, hover over an activity name and click the actions menu icon to open the actions menu.

  • Design Canvas: Within the operation, click an existing activity block to open the actions menu.

Each of these menu actions is available:

  • View/Edit: This opens the activity configuration screen for you to configure the activity. For details, see Configuring a Jira Delete Activity later on this page.

  • Delete: This is used to permanently delete the activity.

  • Rename: This positions the cursor on the activity name in the project pane for you to make edits.

  • View Dependencies: This changes the view in the project pane to display any other parts of the project that the activity is dependent on.

  • Remove: Available only from the actions menu on the design canvas, this removes the activity as a step in the operation without deleting it from the project. When you remove an activity that is adjacent to a transformation, if schemas are provided within that activity, they will no longer be referenced by the transformation. Removed components can be accessed or permanently deleted from the project pane.

  • Deploy: This deploys the activity and any components it is dependent on.

  • Configurable Deploy: This opens the deployment screen, where you can select project components to deploy.

  • Add to group: This opens a prompt to create a new custom group or to add the component to an existing group.

  • Duplicate: This creates a copy of the activity as a new, unreferenced component. Upon creating the component copy, the cursor is positioned on the component name within the project pane for you to rename the component.

Configuring a Jira Delete Activity

Follow these steps to configure a Jira Delete activity:

Step 1: Enter a Name and Select an Object

Jira Delete Activity Configuration Step 1

  • Name: Enter a name to use to identify the Jira Delete activity. The name must be unique for each Jira Delete activity and must not contain forward slashes (/) or colons (:).

  • Select an Object: This section displays objects available in the Jira endpoint.

    • Selected Jira Object: After an object is selected, it is listed here.

    • Search: Enter any part of the object name into the search box to filter the list of objects. The search is not case-sensitive. If objects are already displayed within the table, the table results are filtered in real time with each keystroke. To reload objects from the endpoint when searching, enter search criteria and then refresh, as described below.

    • Refresh: Click the refresh icon Refresh icon or the word Refresh to reload objects from the Jira endpoint. This may be useful if you have recently added objects to Jira. This action refreshes all metadata used to build the table of objects displayed in the configuration.

    • Selecting an Object: Within the table, click anywhere on a row to select an object. Only one object can be selected. The information available for each object is fetched from the Jira endpoint:

      • Name: The object name from Jira.

      • Description: The object description from Jira.

    TIP: If the table does not populate with available objects, the Jira connection may not be successful. Ensure you are connected by reopening the connection and retesting the credentials.

  • Save & Exit: If enabled, click to save the configuration for this step and close the activity configuration.

  • Next: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and continue to the next step. The configuration will not be saved until you click the Finished button on the last step.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Step 2: Review the Data Schemas

Jira Delete Activity Configuration Step 2

  • Data Schema: The request and response data schemas for Jira are displayed. If the operation uses a transformation, the data schemas are displayed again later during the transformation mapping process, where you can map to target fields using source objects, scripts, variables, custom values, and more.

    The delete object request and response data schemas depend on the particular project and object selected. Though there are common fields, the structures depend on the organization of the Jira project and its use of custom fields.

    The Jira connector uses the Jira REST API v3.0. See that documentation for information on the fields used in each object's data schemas.

    • Request:

      Request Schema Field/NodeNotes
      delete-issue-requestDelete issue request
      issuesThe issues object
      inputsNode of the input variables
      issueIdOrKeyThe ID or key of the selected issue
      optionalParametersNode of the query parameters
      deleteSubtasksWhether issue's subtasks are deleted when the issue is deleted. The default is false.
    • Response:

      Response Schema Field/NodeNotes
      delete-issue-responseDelete issue response
      issueNode of the object (zero or more)
      inputsStatus
      issueIdOrKeyThe ID or key of the issue
      messageUpdate message
      errorCollectionNode of the error collection
      errorMessagesThe list of error messages produced by this operation
      #textText of the error message
      errorsThe list of errors by parameter returned by the operation
      statusError status
  • Refresh: Click the refresh icon Refresh icon or the word Refresh to regenerate schemas from the Jira endpoint. This action also regenerates the schema in other locations throughout the project where the same schema is referenced, such as in an adjacent transformation.

  • Back: Click to temporarily store the configuration for this step and return to the previous step.

  • Finished: Click to save the configuration for all steps and close the activity configuration.

  • Discard Changes: After making changes, click to close the configuration without saving changes made to any step. A message asks you to confirm that you want to discard changes.

Next Steps

After configuring a Jira Delete activity, complete the configuration of the operation by adding and configuring other activities, transformations, or scripts as operation steps. You can also configure an operation's operation settings, which include the ability to chain operations together that are in the same or different workflows.

After a Jira activity has been created, menu actions for that activity are accessible from the project pane in either the Workflows or the Components tabs, and from the design canvas. See Activity Actions Menu for details.

Jira Delete activities can be used as a target with these operation patterns:

Other patterns are not valid using Jira Delete activities. See the validation patterns on the Operation Validity page.

A typical use case is to use a Jira Delete activity in the Two-Transformation Pattern. In this example, the first transformation (Jira Delete Request) creates a request structure that is passed to the Jira Delete activity. The second transformation (Jira Delete Response) receives the response structure, which is then written to a variable by a Variable Write activity (Write Jira Delete Response) and a message is then logged by the Write to Operation Log script:

Jira Delete operation

To use the activity with scripting functions, write the data to a temporary location and then use that temporary location in the scripting function.

When ready, deploy and run the operation and validate behavior by checking the operation logs.

On This Page

Last updated:  Nov 11, 2020

  • No labels