Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Introduction

This page describes how to create and configure a new project from within Cloud Studio, how to open an existing project, how to edit the configuration settings of existing projects, and how to delete existing projects.

New Cloud Studio projects can also be created by using Cloud Studio Integration Recipes or Cloud Studio Process Templates provided through Jitterbit Marketplace. For information on creating a new Cloud Studio project from Marketplace, see Starting a Recipe or Template Project.

Creating a New Project

New projects are created from the project index, which contains a repository of all your Cloud Studio projects. The first time you access Cloud Studio, this screen is blank. Click New Project to get started:

On clicking New Project, the project configuration screen opens:

  • Project Name: Enter a name to use to identify the project. The project name must be unique for each environment, and cannot already be in use as a Design Studio project name in the same environment. If a project with the same name already exists in the Jitterbit Harmony cloud, go to the Management Console > Projects page to manage the deployed project.

  • Environment: Use the dropdown to select an existing environment where you want to create the project. Organization administrators can set up new environments through the Management ConsoleEnvironments page.

    NOTE: If you do not see a newly created environment available to select, refresh the project index page to force a reloading of environments.

  • Description: Enter an optional description for the project. This description will appear in the project index and may be useful to help project collaborators understand the project.

  • Start Designing: Click to submit the new project information and proceed to the project designer. This action stores the new project in Cloud Studio; however, note that the project is not yet deployed.

    NOTE: To make changes to the project's configuration after it is created, see Editing Project Settings later on this page.

Opening an Existing Project

Existing projects are displayed in the project index filtered by environment. Use the Filter By dropdown to select a different environment for your selected organization:

NOTE: The available environments are for your selected organization. The selected organization can be changed in the top navigation bar (see Changing the Selected Organization in Jitterbit Harmony Portal).

Existing projects can be opened from either project card view or project list view. For details on all available options available in each of these views, see Project Index.

  • Project Index Card View: Click the card view icon  to enter card view. Then hover over a project card and select View/Edit to open the project in the project designer:

  • Project Index List View: Click the list view icon  to enter list view. Then hover over the empty cell in the column labeled with an actions menu icon  and click the edit icon  to open the project in the project designer:

Editing Project Settings

A project is first configured during project creation, covered earlier on this page. After a project is created, you can edit the project settings to make changes to the project name or description, or to export or delete the project.

The Project Settings option is accessible from these locations:

This opens the project configuration screen, where you can edit information about the project such as name and description, as well as export or delete the project:

  • Project Name: Edit the name used to identify the project. The project name must be unique for each environment, and cannot already be in use as a Design Studio project name in the same environment.

    NOTE: When renaming a project that has previously been deployed, the new project name is automatically deployed and updated in Jitterbit Harmony. No other part of the project besides the name is automatically deployed.

    In addition, these project details are displayed below the project name:

  • Description: Edit the project description. This description will appear in the project index and may be useful to help project collaborators understand the project.

  • Save Changes: Click to save and close the project configuration. This button will be enabled only after you have made changes to existing settings.

  • Export: Generates and initiates a download of a JSON file of the Cloud Studio project. A project export can be used, for example, as a project backup or to share a copy of the project. For details, see Project Exports and Imports.

  • Delete: Permanently deletes the project from the environment in Cloud Studio and the Harmony cloud (see Deleting a Project later on this page).

Deleting a Project

Deleting a project permanently deletes the project from the environment in Cloud Studio and the Harmony cloud, including any deployed projects.

The Delete option is accessible from these locations:

On clicking Delete, a confirmation message asks you to confirm that you want to delete the project:

If the project you are attempting to delete has been migrated, it cannot be deleted until you first delete all projects farther down the migration chain (see Migration Chain in Project Migration). After clicking Continue in the Delete Project dialog, a second dialog indicates that the project cannot be deleted because it has dependent projects:

To resolve, first delete all projects farther down that migration chain, and then try to delete this project again.

  • No labels